JOHN ROONEY Releases New Song “Lost Myself”

John Rooney formed his first band The Lonelyhearts in Sydney, Australia, and it was a fiercely talented power pop band that went on to release a number of independent records. Always a musician and singer-songwriter, he has played numerous events over the years, including the premier Byron Bay Blues Festival. With his pure and wonderfully melodic voice, Rooney has captured fans with his emotional rapport.

He will release his solo album Hoodwink on August 11. Pre-order it here.

Today, he has shared the single “Lost Myself.” Listen here.

“‘Lost Myself’ is about how throughout our lives we can sometimes find ourselves ‘off track,'” Rooney says. “And in order to find ‘oneself,’ you have to get lost to begin with.
The important thing to note is that when you are lost, you are oftentimes not in a position to help others who also might be lost. But no matter how lost we get, just know that we can always find our way back. Just make sure you come back!”

Rooney’s sumptuous melodies and his diverse and inspirational lyrics caught the attention of A-list producer Kevin Shirley; (Joe Bonamassa, John Haitt, Aerosmith, Black Crows & Silverchair.) Hoodwink was recorded in Los Angeles and Nashville. The songs on this album feature an excellent array of musicians, including guitarists Waddy Wachtel (Stevie Nicks and Linda Ronstadt); Rusty Anderson (Paul McCartney); Mitch Easter (producer for REM, Pavement, and Ben Folds). Bassists: Don Was; Chris Chaney (Jane’s Addiction), and Alison Prestwood. Keyboardists: Benmont Tench (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers) and Spooner Oldham (Muscle Shoals, Aretha Franklin, Bob Dylan, Neil Young). Drummers: Jim Keltner (Traveling Wilburys, John Lennon, George Harrison), and Greg Morrow (Nashville).

The record was also mixed by multiple Grammy Award-winner Bob Clearmountain, who is associated with legendary acts like Bruce Springsteen, The Rolling Stones, Toto, Bon Jovi, Bryan Adams, and Gregg Allman.

“Goodbye Ladies”
“Lost Myself”
“Six Year”
“Old Man Running”
“Strange Desire”
“Counting the Times”
“Magic (Reprise)”
“Tragedy (Reprise)”