GREYLOTUS Release New Music Video for “Chiaroscuro”

New Album ‘Dawnfall’ out July 8th via The Artisan Era

Baltimore progressive tech-death metal quintet GREYLOTUS are back with the next single from their upcoming album. Fans can check out the new music video for “Chiaroscuro” (feat. Gareth Mason)  via the link below. The debut full-length from Greylotus, titled ‘Dawnfall’, will see a July 8, 2022 release via The Artisan Era.


GREYLOTUS – “Chiaroscuro” feat. Gareth Mason (Official Video)

Speaking about their new album, the band comments:

‘Dawnfall’ serves as a follow-up statement to the ‘Savior’ EP, which dealt with thrusting inner demons borne of trauma and mental health struggles out into the open, and accepting the reality of existing with them.

In the metaphor of the lotus’ life-cycle, ‘Savior’ represented the stage in which the seed is buried under the mud – shelled in, unaware, and unable to budge from what it has known. ‘Dawnfall’ embodies the process of breaking out of the shell and traveling toward the sun’s light, reaching through murky waters and currents, struggling to separate True North from tricks of the refracted light. 

‘Dawnfall’ explores the self-doubt that accompanies the realization that healing is a non-linear process. It wanders through the pits of self-judgment and confronts what follows when an individual accepts that the best version of themselves is not constrained by perfection.

‘Dawnfall’ Tracklist:
1. Rectilinear Motion
2. Shadow Archetype
3. Currents
4. Chiaroscuro
5. Capgras Delusion
6. Syzygy
7. Hoarfrost
8. Dawnfall
9. Azure Rain
Greylotus is a progressive technical death metal band from Baltimore, Maryland.
Combining influences from all edges of the modern metal frontier, Greylotus crafts various dynamic walls of sound, ranging from passages of blisteringly technical riffs and artillery-esque blast beats, to emotional and melodic harmonies and choruses, to soundscapes brimming with ambient, orchestral, acoustic, and synth elements. After establishing the foundation of their sound in the 2018 EP, ‘Savior’, they went to work writing for their debut full-length ‘Dawnfall,’ a genre-defying experience highlighting the wide array of influences each member brings to the table.
Greylotus serves to provide a narrative for self-development through metaphor following the lotus flower’s life cycle in their lyrics. They seek to leave memorable emotional postcards that listeners can connect with and reflect upon.
After getting their first taste of the road in 2019 alongside Abiotic, Cognitive, and God of Nothing, and playing the virtual Techabilitation Festival in 2020 amid the pandemic, Greylotus are raring to perform again at United Kingdom Tech-Fest 2022 and tours TBA.
FFO: Fallujah, Animals as Leaders, Lorna Shore, Beneath the Massacre, Abiotic, Wormhole
Lee Mintz – Vocals
Ben Towles – Guitar
Sanjay Kumar – Guitar
Drewsif Reynolds – Bass
Matt Tillett – Drums