Shadow Of Intent: Announce New Album ELEGY

Set To Release on January 14th, 2022 Via Blood Blast Distribution
Pre-Order Here
Drop Official Music Video For New Track
Stream Here | Watch Here
Friday, October 1st, 2021 – SHADOW OF INTENT, one of the most exciting and revered bands to emerge from the metal world in recent years, have announced that their new album, ‘Elegy’ will be released on January 14th, 2022 via Blood Blast Distribution, pre-orders available now here.
Today’s announcement comes highlighted by the release of the official music video for brand new track “From Ruin… We Rise”. The track takes the listener on an epic journey as dramatic strings weave around Chris Wiseman’s darkly driving riffs and intricate lead guitar work and Bryce Butler’s frantic blast beats, coupled with Andrew Monias’ pummeling bass lines punctuate Ben Duerr’s brutal, guttural vocals. Stream “From Ruin… We Rise” here and watch the music video here or by clicking on the image below.
Speaking on the band’s new release, vocalist Ben Duerr shares
“This song speaks about the inhumane suffering endured in the Ukraine. Surviving mass famine, slave labor, and essentially being used as cannon fodder in the world’s largest war in history, the nation still retains their identity, even as they are gripped in civil strife. This song mourns their fallen, while hoping their innocents can remain strong, despite being locked in disarray and subjected to atrocities. Let this also be a reminder to our own compatriots that no matter the current political climate, no matter the disagreements, we will survive it, as we are one.”
SHADOW OF INTENT - From Ruin... We Rise (Official Music Video)
Since their formation in 2014, SHADOW OF INTENT have garnered a reputation for crafting mind-blowingly technical, prog tinged symphonic deathcore. Widely acknowledged as one of the forerunners of the current deathcore renaissance, the band’s debut album ‘Primordial’ was named as one of Revolver Magazine’s ‘15 Essential Deathcore Albums‘, with Metal Sucks giving their 2019 album ‘Melancholy’ a perfect 5/5 review, stating “you can expect Shadow of Intent to send echoes across metal for as long as they feel like making music”. To date, they have clocked up 55 million streams, 21.5 million YouTube Views and have nearly 200,000 monthly listeners on Spotify.
Shadow Of Intent
Track Listing
1. Farewell
2. Saurian King
3. The Coming Fire
4. Of Fury
5. Intensified Genocide
6. Life of Exile
7. Where Millions Have Come to Die
8. From Ruin… We Rise
9. Blood in the Sands of Time
10. Reconquest
11. Elegy I: Adapt
12. Elegy II: Devise
13. Elegy III: Overcome
SHADOW OF INTENT will be hitting the road with Born of Osiris and Signs of The Swarm. Tickets available from .
Tour Dates
10/29 – Sauget, IL – Pops
10/30 – Fort Wayne, IN – Piere’s
10/31 – Joliet, IL – The Forge
11/02 – Syracuse, NY – Lost Horizon
11/03 – Patchogue, NY – Stereo Garden
11/05 – Hampton Beach, NH – Wally’s Pub
11/06 – Hartford, CT – Webster Theater
11/07 – Asbury Park, NJ – House Of Independents
11/09 – Reading, PA – Reverb
11/10 – Virginia Beach, VA – Elevation 27
11/11 – Jacksonville, NC – Hooligan’s
11/12 – Huntington, WV – The Loud
11/13 – Louisville, KY – Diamond Pub Music Hall
11/14 – Columbus, OH – The King Of Clubs
11/16 – Grand Rapids, MI – Elevation
11/17 – Madison, WI – The Annex
11/18 – Omaha, NE – Waiting Room
11/19 – Springfield, MO – The Riff
11/20 – Indianapolis, IN – Emerson Theater
SHADOW OF INTENT is an American metal band based in New England originally formed by Ben Duerr and Chris Wiseman in 2014. The band continues to release their music independently including their first album Primordial (2016), second album Reclaimer (2017) and very recently their latest work Melancholy (2019).
The band name and lyrics were originally derived from lore from the Halo franchise and since then the band’s subject matter has become more dark and personal, while maintaining an element of fantasy and wonder. The band’s music is heavily built off of various different genres of metal including death metal, black metal, symphonic metal, progressive metal, and metalcore. SHADOW OF INTENT played their first live show at the end of 2017, which then lead to them embarking on several US tours with bands such as The Black Dahlia Murder, Whitechapel, Carnifex, Fleshgod Apocalypse, Despised Icon, and more.
2021 has brought about a new era of the band bringing singles “Intensified Genocide”, “From Ruin… We Rise” and a cover of Lamb of God’s “Laid to Rest”, foreshadowing the 2022 ‘Elegy’ album release. The band further evolves their subject matter, touching on the atrocities of mankind throughout history brought about by warmongering, hatred, and greed. The signature SHADOW OF INTENT sound continues to evolve with a larger-than-life cinematic soundscape accompanying each track, bringing a sonic experience hitherto unheard.
Shadow Of Intent Are
Ben Duerr – Vocals
Chris Wiseman – Guitar, Vocals, Keyboards
Bryce Butler – Drums
Andrew Monias – Bass
Find Shadow of Intent Online