ROADRUNNER UNITED Release Live Video of “The Dagger”

Roadrunner United was a project organized by iconic hard rock record label Roadrunner Records to celebrate its 25th anniversary, culminating in the U.S. Billboard Top 200, UK Albums, and Australian ARIA Albums-charting original The All-Star Sessions. Four “team captains” (Slipknot’s Joey Jordison, Machine Head’s Robb Flynn, Fear Factory’s Dino Cazares, and Trivium’s Matthew K. Heafy) were chosen to lead 57 artists from 45 past and present Roadrunner bands. It was truly a heavy metal family affair — and then some!

The release was labeled “a testament to Roadrunner’s far-reaching impact on the genre” by MTV. Because that’s exactly what it was. Additionally, on December 15, 2005, a concert celebrating the project, album, and anniversary took place at the Nokia Theater in New York City. Today, you can watch the live performance of Roadrunner United’s original song song “The Dagger.” The performance features Howard Jones (Light The Torch), Robb Flynn (Machine Head), Jeff Waters (Annihilator), Jordan Whelan, Adam Duce (Machine Head), Paul Gray (Slipknot), and Andols Herrick (Chimaira). Watch it here.”

Robb wrote a monster of a song, and he knows how to showcase vocals,” says Jones. “I can’t thank him enough for bringing me on board! Getting to perform ‘The Dagger’ with him and so many talented guys was an absolute blast. That album coming to life for one evening was a real moment in time — everyone walked away with awesome memories that night!”The star-studded event featured multiple musicians, both past and present, from Roadrunner bands — as well as musicians that did not originally perform on the All-Star Sessions album. The set list consisted of some of the most popular and famous songs released by Roadrunner Records, as well as some of the original songs from the project’s album. The “core band,” which performed on the majority of the songs, consisted of the aforementioned Cazares(Fear Factory), Adam Duce (Machine Head), the late Paul Gray (Slipknot), the late Joey Jordison (Slipknot, Murderdolls), Andreas Kisser (Sepultura), and Roy Mayorga (Hellyeah, Stone Sour). Now, both the original All-Star Sessions album and the concert performance itself will be made widely available in multiple configurations on March 10, 2023. Pre-orders for the concert album, which will be available on vinyl, CD, digitally, and presented in HD for the first time, are now live here. All details about each configuration of the live concert album and original CD are below.

We have opened the vault to bring to you for the first time on vinyl Roadrunner United The Concert (Live at the Nokia Theatre, New York, NY, 12/15/2005), featuring members of Slipknot, Anthrax, Trivium, Machine Head, Fear Factory, Sepultura, and more. Roadrunner United was a project organized by the heavy metal record label Roadrunner Records to celebrate its 25th anniversary. On December 15, 2005, in New York City. Roadrunner Records produced the metal concert to end all Metal Concerts: 39 musicians, representing 25 different Roadrunner bands, performed 25 songs from 19 different bands’ repertoires. This unique and unprecedented aggregation of musicians was no jam session. Each song was studiously rehearsed and arranged, coming together with exuberant perfection, to produce a concert that can only be called legendary and iconic!

Conceived as a follow-up to the Roadrunner United The All-Star Sessions, the label recruited the core team of musicians (Dino Cazares, Adam Duce, Paul Gray, Joey Jordison, Andreas Kisser, and Roy Mayorga) as the backbone of the performance.  Sure enough, as they fine-tuned the songs and rehearsed them tirelessly, dozens of other musicians boarded the performance.

This 3-LP set represents the gathering of a community of musicians that spans the heavy metal history of the first 25 years of Roadrunner Records — from King Diamond to Slipknot and beyond. Those who were lucky enough to be there experienced a night they will never forget.  For the first time as a live concert album, this 3-LP set on red, white, and black-colored vinyl is a chance to relive that special night again and again.

The concert will also be available digitally. It is also presented in HD for the first time ever.

Biohazard’ // “Punishment”
Madball // “Set It Off”
Stormtroopers of Death // “March of The S.O.D.”
Life of Agony // “River Runs Red”
Obituary // “The End Complete”

Mercyful Fate // “Curse of The Pharaohs”
King Diamond // ”Abigail”
Annihilator // “Alison Hell”
Deicide // “Dead By Dawn”

Trivium // “Pull Harder On The Strings Of Your Martyr”
Killswitch Engage // “My Last Serenade”
Chimaira // “Pure Hatred”
Fear Factory // “Replica”

Type O Negative // “Black No. 1”
Roadrunner United // “Tired ‘N Lonely”
Stone Sour // “Brother”
Roadrunner United // “The Rich Man”

Roadrunner United // “The Dagger”
Roadrunner United // “The End”
Soulfly // “Eye For An Eye”
Sepultura // “Refuse/Resist”

Slipknot // “Surfacing”
Machine Head // “Davidian”
Slipknot // “(sic)”
Sepultura // “Roots Bloody Roots”

Steve Asheim, Matt Baumbach, Cory Beaulieu, Glen Benton, Rob Caggiano, Keith Caputo, Dino Cazares, Mike D’Antonio, Phil Demmel, Adam Duce, Brian Fair, Robb Flynn, Justin Foley, Paul Gray, Billy Graziadei, Paolo Gregoletto, Matthew K. Heafy, Andols Herrick, Scott Ian, Jamey Jasta, Howard Jones, Joey Jordison, Andreas Kisser, Jesse Leach, Logan Mader, Roy Mayorga, James Murphy, Tim “Ripper” Owens, Nadja Peulen, Evan Seinfeld, Acey Slade, Travis Smith, Joel Stroetzel, Corey Taylor, Ville Valo, Tommy Vext, Jeff Waters, Jordan Whelan, Tim Williams