DEVIN TOWNSEND Releases New Song “Moonpeople”

From Upcoming Studio Album Lightwork

New Studio Album Available Worldwide Via InsideOut Music 

On October 28th Now Available For Pre-Order

(New York, NY) Musical mastermind Devin Townsend is pleased to announce his debut single “Moonpeople” from his forthcoming new album Lightwork. The new album will be available worldwide on October 28th via InsideOut Music.  Following months of hard work finishing the album, as well as an extensive European touring schedule that included 2 nights at London’s Royal Albert Hall, the first piece of new music taken from his much-anticipated new album is ready to be heard. Stream the track and pre-order Lightwork here:

“Moonpeople” is the album’s opening track and arrives with a video filmed by Devin himself while he was in Spain earlier this year. The first in a three-part series of clips, you can watch the video now here:

As explained to the world from the man himself, Devin comments: 

“Hey all 🙂 this is Devin.  Welcome to my newest album ‘Lightwork.’ The last few years have been a lot, and this is the music that I wrote during that time.

In essence, ‘Lightwork’ is a bit more of a ‘song’ oriented album. A bit more direct and simpler than a lot of what I’ve been doing lately. After ‘Empath’ and ‘The Puzzle’, things kind of swung back in the direction of more traditional arrangements for ‘Lightwork.’ 

Lyrically, It kind of hints at the struggles of the last few years but with an eye on putting the pieces back together again. 

We chose ‘Moonpeople’ as the first of three video releases from this project, The three videos share a theme, so I think that’ll work. 

‘Moonpeople’ is the first song on ‘Lightwork’ and acts as a sort of mission statement for the album. Post pandemic… kids are now teens… 50 years old, who am I now? Beyond any platitudes or delusions, who am I now that the smoke is clearing and what do I want to do, and who do I want to be, moving forward?

The term ‘Moonpeople’ in my mind, refers to those in society that kind of ‘watch’ things rather than being directly involved in it. Maybe the Moonpeople are more introverted rather than extroverted? In any case, it functions as a song on the album that will set the stage for the dynamic nature of the material that follows it.

So here you go. Song one.”

After a few exceptionally long years full of personal change and near manic levels of creative activity, Canadian musician Devin Townsend releases his follow up to 2019’s well received Empath in the form of his new release, Lightwork. Assembled from a barrage of material written during the pandemic, Lightwork (and its companion album of B-sides and demos; Nightwork) represents Devin at this stage of his life, post pandemic, and his reflections on what he (and many of us) have all gone through. 

For Lightwork, Devin decided to see what would happen if he included a producer (an experiment he has been excited to attempt for some time) to help guide this selection of material. He chose long-time friend Garth “GGGarth” Richardson to help bring this idea to fruition, and through a difficult (but wonderful) process, the next Devin album have been delivered. The name Lightwork represents the music, as well as the act of creating music, as a kind of ‘light in the dark’ while trying to navigate the seemingly endless challenges that life can often present. When things seem like there’s “no way out” or that a situation becomes seemingly insurmountable, the connection to music, family, and creativity became a light in the dark that is the bedrock of this wonderful album.

Featuring artwork by frequent collaborator Travis Smith, Lightwork arrives in several editions including a Limited Deluxe Orange 3LP+2CD+Blu-ray boxset that includes both Lightwork & its companion album Nightwork on both CD & Vinyl, as well as a Blu-ray including 5.1 surround sound, album commentary & visuals, art-cards & extensive perfect-bound booklet, all contained in a lift-off lid box. There will also be a Limited 2CD+Blu-ray Artbook, Limited 2CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP+CD, Standard CD Jewelcase and Digital Album. 

The tracklisting for Lightfall is: 

1)      Moonepeople

2)      Lightworker

3)      Equinox

4)      Call Of The Void

5)      Heartbreaker

6)      Dimensions

7)      Celestial Signals

8)      Heavy Burden

9)      Vacation

10)   Children Of God

Devin will embark on a European headline tour in early 2023. The full list of dates can be found below:


21 Tues NO – Oslo, Sentrum Scene

23 Thu FI – Helsinki, House of Culture

24 Fri FI – Tampere, Pakkahuone

25 Sat FI – Oulu, Tullisali

27 Mon SE – Stockholm, Cirkus

28 Tues SE – Gothenburg, Pustervik

MARCH 2023

1 Wed DK – Copenhagen, Amager Bio

3 Fri NL – Tilburg, 013

4 Sat DE – Cologne, Carlswerk Victoria

5 Sun FR – Lille, Le Splendid

7 Tues DE – Leipzig, WERK 2

8 Wed DE – Frankfurt, Batschkapp

10 Fri CH – Zurich, X-tra

11 Sat DE – Munich, Backstage Werk

13 Mon AT – Dornbirn, Conrad Sohm

14 Tues IT – Milan, Live Club

16 Thu ES – Barcelona, Razzmatazz

17 Fri ES – Madrid, La Riviera

18 Sat PT – Lisbon, Cineteatro Capitólio

20 Mon FR – Toulouse, Le Bikini

21 Tues FR – Marseille, Le Moulin

22 Wed FR – Clermont Ferrand, La Coopérative De Mai

24 Fri BE – Brussels, Ancienne Belgique

25 Sat DE – Stuttgart, LKA-Longhorn

26 Sun FR – Paris, L’Olympia

28 Tues UK – Bexhill-on-Sea, De La Warr Pavilion

29 Wed UK – Bristol, Academy

31 Fri UK – Manchester, Academy

APRIL 2023

1 Sat UK – Nottingham, Rock City

2 Sun UK – Newcastle, University

4 Tues UK – Wolves, KK’s Steel Mill

5 Wed UK – Norwich, UEA

Devin Townsend (Photo Credit: Paul Harries)


Look out for more information on Lightwork in the coming months.