Pallbearer Debut “the Quicksand of Existing” Video


“Pallbearer sound as strong as ever.” – Consequence of Sound

“… Pallbearer… still sounds as huge as ever.” – Stereogum

…sweeping and melancholic, it carves out a shadow-cast yet verdant valley between the majesty of vintage Black Sabbath and the morbid romanticism of Type O Negative.” – Revolver

“…one of modern metal’s most consistently brilliant acts…” – Loudwire


Watch the video for “The Quicksand of Existing” by clicking the image above or following this link:


Sept. 18, 2020, Little Rock, Ark. – Pallbearer, have released “The Quicksand of Existing” (, a third single from the band’s forthcoming album Forgotten Days (Oct. 23, Nuclear Blast). The song arrives with another Ben Meredith directed video.

“As we strive to be, the forces of entropy perpetually pull us down into a state of being unmade,” offers bass player/songwriter Joseph D. Rowland of the track which reflects the narrative themes behind the highly-anticipated release, self-described by the band as a reflection on family and loss. “The body degrades; the mind and memories fray into unwoven threads, no longer connected to the rich fabric of the self. Choices made upon our separate and conjoined paths may find us engulfed in a mire of our unmaking. I wanted this song to face this reality with a grim determination.”

The Randall Dunn (Sunn O))), Earth, Johan Johannson) produced album was recorded at Sonic Ranch Studios in West Texas. Michael Lierly, drummer Mark Lierly’s brother, once again created the album’s artwork, crafting images that were roughly hewn yet heartbreaking in their expressive heft. The striking cover is the ideal foil to Pallbearer’s thick musical and lyrical melancholia.

Forgotten Days ( is available in a number of limited edition vinyl variants with physical bundles available via both the Nuclear Blast and Pallbearer webstores, as well as digitally and on CD/cassette. The trio of released singles: “Forgotten Days” (, “Rite of Passage” ( and “The Quicksand of Existing” are available as immediate downloads with digital pre-orders on iTunes, Amazon Music and Bandcamp. Listeners can pre-save the album and listen to the title track on all DSPs:


Photo credits: Jacob Slatton/Ebru Yildiz


Pallbearer is Brett Campbell (vocals/guitar), Devin Holt (guitar), Joseph D. Rowland (bass/vocals), and Mark Lierly (drums). The Little Rock, Arkansas based band formed in 2008 and have since released a trio of albums: Sorrow and Extinction (2012) and Foundations of Burden (2014) to Heartless (2017). Pallbearer has received widespread praise with Rolling Stone dubbing their music “beautiful melancholia,” the New York Times saying, “Pallbearer takes the genre’s distorted guitars and dread and adds an ambitious element of optimism,” and Decibel, who have twice afforded the band their cover slot, declaring the band’s songs both “majestic” and “extraordinary.”

# # #