MÅNEGARM Release Second Single & Official Video, “En snara av guld”

New Album, Ynglingaättens Öde, out April 15, 2022 via Napalm Records
Pre-Order NOW!
MÅNEGARM keeps the heathen fire alive with vibrant folk and Viking spirit!

Swedish folk metal mainstays MÅNEGARM have made a name for themselves in the international scene by releasing nine full-length records since their debut, Nordstjärnans tidsålder, back in 1998. Now, the Scandinavian crew takes another stroll through ancient sagas and myths of long-forgotten times on the successor to 2019’s chart-topping Fornaldarsagor with their upcoming 10th studio album, Ynglingaättens Öde (EN: the fate of the Ynglinga kin), out April 15, 2022, via Napalm Records.

At the head of the scene for more than 25 years and after smashing the staggering first single off the new full-length, entitled “Ulvhjärtat” (EN: the Wolfheart), the Swedish wolf pack unveils the second single, “En snara av guld” (EN: a golden noose), a flattering, ballad-like yet powerful mid-tempo song. It starts off with a capturing, dusky intro that leads into a catchy, heavy tune with growls that alternate with clean singing and gentle vocal harmonies presented by Lea Grawsiö Lindström – the daughter of MÅNEGARM vocalist Erik Grawsiö. The track is accompanied by a captivating cinematic official music video that leads into the band’s Nordic world of myths, telling the dark and vicious story of the golden noose.
MÅNEGARM on “En snara av guld”:“’En snara av guld’ is our newest single from the upcoming album and is one of the songs that we are most satisfied with. It’s a grand, epic song that revolves around one simple but powerful melody; a melody that tells this gruesome story in a captivating way: the story about the Finnish daughter Skjalv who gets abducted and is forced to marry King Agne – the same man that killed her father. She finally gets her revenge on Agne and when the new day dawns, the King gets his final rest high up in the trees.”
MÅNEGARM on the video:“‘En snara av guld’ is the most gripping video we have ever made and we are so amazingly proud of how both the song and video came out. And a father’s heart couldn’t pound any stronger than today since the song features Erik’s youngest daughter, Lea, on vocals, and his other daughter, Tuva, plays Skjalv in the video.
Enjoy Brothers & Sisters!”

On Ynglingaättens Öde, MÅNEGARM incorporates Pagan-inspired lyricism based on the old Norse poem Ynglingatal, which describes the fate of an old Norse dynasty – the house of Ynglinga. Ynglingaättens Öde offers balanced variety and atmosphere, breathing new life into ancient myths. Vocalist Erik Grawsiö tells the stories of kings, warriors, and battles with clear vocals and contrasts them with grim growls and fierce battle cries!

Pre-order your copy of Ynglingaättens Öde NOW!
With the uncompromising ten-minute opus “Freyrs blod”, MÅNEGARM lure the listener deep into ancient times. The track spans a wide arc between black metal elements that flow into more melodic parts and even acoustic interludes with guitar and violin tunes, just to turn once again into thunderous soundscapes. With this majestic opener, MÅNEGARM showcase why they are regarded as Swedish genre pioneers with good reason, as they inimitably manage to combine vicious black metal foundations with classic folk and Viking elements. On the way there are acoustic introductions echoing, as on “Stridsgalten”, acting as preludes for intense metal songs with harsh riffs and engaging drums, underlined by anthemic melodies. “Stridsgalten” marks another highlight of the album, as it features outstanding contributions from prominent guests Jonne Järvelä (Korpiklaani), Robse Dahn (Equilibrium) and Pär Hulkoff (Raubtier/Hulkoff).

All renowned in the folk and Pagan metal scenes, together they proudly present a stomping track telling the story of a bloody battle to honor Odin. “Vitta vettr” features black metal trademarks like blast beats and freezing riffs, creating a darker atmosphere. This gloomy moment lines up with mighty tracks like hammering “Auns söner” and heroic “Adils Fall”. The album closes with the acoustic “Hågkomst av ett liv”, conjuring an atmosphere of sitting at a warm, sparkling fire while listening to tales of olden days, formed by the mesmerizing vocal duet of vocalists Ellinor Videfors and Grawsiö. With Ynglingaättens ÖdeMÅNEGARM underline their standing as spearheads of the world of Viking metal once more and keep Pagan traditions alive, even after 25 years of existence.

MÅNEGARM on the album:         
“Thousands of working hours turned into this beast – our new album, Ynglingaättens Öde. We truly believe this album is our strongest and most complete album to date and despite the dark days of the pandemic, we have created a concept album that is 100% MÅNEGARM and packed with strong melodies, riffs and powerful choruses. This time, we explore an old Swedish Norse dynasty of rulers where we detail their deeds, their rule and above all – their deaths.  So come join us on this journey and meet the fate of the Yngliga kin!”

Ynglingaättens Öde tracklisting:
1. Freyrs blod
2. Ulvhjärtat
3. Adils fall
4. En snara av guld
5. Stridsgalten
6. Auns söner
7. Vitta vettr
8. Hågkomst av ett liv

Ynglingaättens Öde will be available in the following formats:
– Wooden Box (incl. Digipack, 7″ Single, album cover flag, logo patch) – limited to 500 copies worldwide
– 1LP Gatefold Marbled Gold & Black – limited to 300 copies worldwide
– 1LP Gatefold BLACK- Shirt & Digipack Bundle
– Digipack CD- Digital Full Length Album