BOUNDARIES Sign with 3Dot Records; Burying Brightness Arrives Oct 14

Photo by Sarah Holick

Boundaries return with their eagerly-awaited follow-up, Burying Brightness, on Oct. 14 via 3DOT Recordings.

A sample of the 12-song album comes via today’s newly released single “Heaven’s Broken Heart” ( Vocalist Matthew McDougal gives insight into the track: “’Heaven’s Broken Heart’ is one part allegory and one part fantasy. It tells a story of vengeance and punishment from a god that has become too ashamed of life on earth to let it continue. It started as purely a conceptual song and eventually formed into more of a parable on my mood disorders and how suddenly they can surround and darken a person’s world. The opening line ‘night falls fast’ being a reference to the book of the same name by Kay Redfield Jamison, which details years of research towards understanding how and why we as people commit suicide. Meanwhile lyrics like ‘shale skinned monsters’ make reference to golems and other biblical horrors that are being released on an unknowing populace destined for extinction.”

The band wrote the bulk of Burying Brightness in the studio, reuniting with Your Receding Warmth producer Randy Leboeuf [The Acacia Strain, Kublai Khan] at Graphic Nature Audio. Marking a shift for the band, with the new album they’ve integrated vocals from drummer Tim Sullivan and bass player Nathan Calcagno.

“We utilized their voices for the first time,” McDougal explains. “There’s definitely a new dynamic. We focused on writing some choruses. We made it a little prettier and calmer, changing up the listening experience. We wanted to use all of the tools we have at our disposal on this record. We didn’t leave anything out.”

“Our goal is to write exactly the kinds of songs we want to with no barriers,” guitar player Cory Emond explains. “I feel like we did that. We’ve always wanted to have songs with singing, but we were never able to capture it until now. We also have some of the heaviest songs we’ve ever written. It has both extremes.”

Burying Brightness track list:

1.    It Begins To Speak

2.    Your Own Murder

3.    This Is What It’s Like

4.    Heaven’s Broken Heart

5.    No One Will Mourn You Here

6.    Resent and Regret

7.    Realize and Rebuild

8.    My Body is a Cage

9.    –

10. It Was Built to Break

11. Burying Brightness

12. The Tower

Album pre-orders, which include several limited-edition vinyl variants as well as collectible bundles, are available now via