SHADE EMPIRE  Release New Single “Sunholy”

Music Video | Watch HERE 

New Album ‘Sunholy’ will be Released

via Candlelight Records on September 15th 

Pre-Order HERE

Finnish symphonic extreme metallers SHADE EMPIRE have released a captivating video for the title track of their sixth studio album, ‘Sunholy’. The track represents a heavier and more symphonic moment on the album, exemplified by breathtaking scenery and landscapes throughout the video.

New album ‘Sunholy’ is set for release on September 15th via Candlelight Records. 

The band comments: “We wanted to do things differently than before on the ‘Sunholy’ video as the music demanded epic landscapes. We ran into an extremely talented film maker Oliver König whose previous works and beautiful sceneries caught our attention. So we went to shoot the video in the Austrian Alps and ended up on one of the highest peaks in Austria (2500m). We couldn’t be more happy with the result!”

Watch the Music Video for “Sunholy” HERE

Formed in Kuopio, Finland in 1999, SHADE EMPIRE have developed their own genre, an unholy fusion of symphonic melody interwoven with black and death metal overtones, emotionally rich vocals and tight orchestral instrumentation. 

New album ‘Sunholy’ features nine towering tracks of atmospheric beauty, barbed with unspeakably brutal guitar patterns, multi-layered beautiful synth walls, devastating drum parts, complex bass assaults and unique vocals that are delivered straight from the jaws of hell. Fans of Dimmu Borgir, Marduk, Septicflesh and Dark Tranquility will find something here.

Mixed by Chris Edrich (Devin Townsend, Leprous, Alcest) and mastered by Pierrick Noël (Klone), with Fleshgod Apocalypse’s Francesco Ferrini responsible for the orchestrations and Andy Reich at Collapse Of Art completing the artwork, ‘Sunholy’ is a long-aged piece of art and labour of love. Embodying the most comprehensive SHADE EMPIRE effort to date, the lyrics are thematically inspired by the Jonestown tragedy, a mass murder-suicide of the Peoples Temple cult, but there’s also a fuller contemplation and exploration of the current state of the world.

After a long-endured absence, SHADE EMPIRE have returned as grandiose experts in their craft, with an astounding soundtrack to Hell’s gates opening and a band relishing being at the top of their game.

Pre-Order ‘Sunholy’ HERE

‘Sunholy’ Track List:

1. In Amongst The Woods

2. The Apostle

3. This Coffin an Island

4. Sunholy

5. Torn Asunder

6. Maroon

7. All-Consuming Flame

8. Profane Radiance

9. Rite of Passage


Since 1999, SHADE EMPIRE have strived to forge their own sound. Hailing from Finland, the band inked a deal with Italian label Avantgarde Records for the release of their first critically acclaimed album ‘Sinthetic’ (2004).

Success was to follow in 2006 with their follow-up release ‘Intoxicate O.S.’, which had been recorded at the famous Studio Perkele, and in its opening week achieved position 25 in the official Finnish charts. Their third release, concept album ‘Zero Nexus’ (2008) took them higher into the Finnish charts, debuting at no 15. Fourth album, ‘Omega Arcane’ was released via Candlelight Records in 2014 with ‘Poetry Of The Ill-Minded’ following in 2017. 

The band have toured with bands such as Unleashed, Krisiun, Borknagar and appeared at numerous festivals worldwide.


Henry Hämäläinen – vocals

Juha Sirkkiä – guitars and keys

Eero Mantere – bass guitar

Erno Räsänen – drums

Aapeli Kivimäki – guitars

Web  Facebook  Instagram  Twitter