IMPURE WILHELMINA Release New Music Video, Announce New Tour Dates

Release New Music Video, Announce New Tour Dates

Swiss post-metallers IMPURE WILHELMINA have released their brand new music video for “Murderers,” which was taken from the band’s latest album, ‘Radiation’ (2017). Watch the new clip via the official Season of Mist YouTube channel HERE.
IMPURE WILHELMINA comment on the video: “We are proud to present our new video for the song ‘Murderers,’ taken from ‘Radiation.’ This song is about the loss of spirituality in the contemporary world, although it is still perennial around us. The religious representations are often seen as empty shells, and they are, because they can’t make sense to a faithless soul. To catch the particular spirit of this song, we worked again with the talented Brunelle. Hope you will enjoy it as much as we do.”

IMPURE WILHELMINA are available for interviews via Skype or email. Please reach out to Katy Irizarry at Additional assets, such as hi-rez photos of the band, can be found HERE.

On further news, IMPURE WILHELMINA have updated their already announced tour dates with RORCAL in February 2019. The tour starts on February 15 in Chambéry (FR) and sees the band playing in Spain and Portugal as well.
IMPURE WILHELMINA comment on the tour: “We are thrilled to join forces again with our friends RORCAL for a bunch of shows in southern Europe. This tour will mark our very first appearance in Spain and Portugal. Also we are glad to be back in some French cities where we haven’t played for many years. Let’s spread the vibes of ‘Radiation’ once again before we focus on our next album!”

A list of all confirmed dates can be viewed below.

02/15: Chambéry (FR) @ Brin de Zinc
02/16: Tulle (FR) @ Conseil Général
02/17: Barcelona (ES) @ Sala Monasterio
02/18: Madrid (ES) @ Wurlizer Ballroom
02/19: Lisboa (PT) @ Disgraca
02/20: Porto (PT) @ Woodstock 69 Rock Bar
02/21: Bilbao (ES) @ La Ribera
02/22: Toulouse (FR) @ Le Rex
02/23: La Fare-les-Oliviers (FR) @ L’Humus

04/05: Béthune (FR) @ Le Poche
04/06: Strasbourg (FR) @ Kawati Studios

IMPURE WILHELMINA will be touring in support of their latest album, ‘Radiation,’ which has been released on July 7th, 2017.
IMPURE WILHELMINA commented on their album: “The ten songs featured on ‘Radiation’ form a journey through melodic and melancholic landscapes, where darkness is enlightenment, dissonance is harmony, and catharsis is wisdom. Our musical and lyrical achievement keeps faith with the spirit of IMPURE WILHELMINA. This is the outcome of an effort that was initiated three years ago, following the release of our previous album ‘Black Honey’. We would like to thank everyone involved in the realisation of this album. We hope that ‘Radiation’ will wipe away some of the pain that you feel.”

Artwork and track-list of ‘Radiation’ can be viewed below. The album can be purchased HERE in various formats.

1. Great Falls beyond Death (4:49)
2. Sacred Fire (5:22)
3. Child (5:28)
4. Torn (4:51)
5. We Need a New Sun (6:46)
6. Meaningless Memories (6:00)
7. Bones and Heart (4:37)
8. By Ravens and Flies (6:18)
9. Murderers (5:43)
10. Race with You (6:35)

The musical amalgamation of metal and melancholia is somewhat of an oxymoron, yet the doom sub-genre is thriving exactly on the tension created by this seeming contradiction. It is therefore an easy temptation to pigeon-hole ‘Radiation’ into that category, but that would constitute a severe injustice to the sixth full-length of IMPURE WILHELMINA.

The darkness of the soul that unfolds on ‘Radiation’ is feeding from many sources. Although they originally started out on a post-core flow, the Swiss have continuously drifted to a more rock based course, on which they are staying. Their forthcoming album finds some obvious points of reference such as later KATATONIA, PARADISE LOST and TIAMAT in their ability to create sublime melodic elegance. Yet there are also more obscure undercurrents such as a fearless embrace of dissonance and raw emotionality embodied by the stylistically quite different JOY DIVISION.

IMPURE WILHELMINA have been creating music on the border between rock and metal for over 20 years. Founded by vocalist and guitarist Michael Schindl and his brother David on drums in 1996, the band from Geneva made a strong impact with their self-released debut album ‘Afraid’ (1999), which saw the Swiss being regarded on the same level with compatriots such as NOSTROMO and KNUT from the local metallic hardcore scene.

During the next years, the line-up of IMPURE WILHELMINA underwent many changes, while revolving around main composer and lyricist Michael Schindl. These creative encounters allowed the band to endlessly rethink their direction and turn each of their albums into a singular piece, while keeping a unique touch, mixing intensity, heaviness, melody and melancholy.

IMPURE WILHELMINA released a self-titled 7″ in 1996, the ‘Undressing Your Soul’ EP in 1998, a split EP with ORDEAL in 2001, and five full-lengths so far. The critically acclaimed ‘I Can’t Believe I Was Born in July’ (2003) and ‘L’amour, la mort, l’enfance perdue’ (2005) have been viewed as key albums regarding the band’s style, while ‘Prayers and Arsons’ (2008) marked a new step in their evolution with the inclusion of more rock elements.

Not resting on their laurels, IMPURE WILHELMINA generated much enthusiasm and surprise with their recently released full-length ‘Black Honey’, which was first released on vinyl in 2014 and followed by a CD in 2015. This album features more prominent and clean singing. Overall less aggressive, ‘Black Honey’ boosts emotional intensity and melodic atmospheres, while revealing multiple new facets of the band.

Over the years, IMPURE WILHELMINA have garnered an excellent reputation as a particularly strong live entity and shared stages with illustrious groups such as NEUROSIS, ENTOMBED, THE OCEAN, GOJIRA, ISIS, ZATOKREV, and KRUGER.

With ‘Radiation’, IMPURE WILHELMINA have created an album that invites the listener to explore and discover new hidden treasures with every spin. Welcome to this journey into uncharted musical lands…

Michael Schindl: guitar, vocals
Diogo Almeida: guitar
Sebastien Dutruel: bass
Mario Togni: drums