Helfró Release New Song, “Hin Forboðna Alsæla”

Icelandic black metal ensemble HELFRÓ are now premiering “Hin Forboðna Alsæla,” the second song of the band’s forthcoming self titled debut album, which will be released on Season of Mist Underground Activists on April 24! “Hin Forboðna Alsæla” can be heard at THIS LOCATION

HELFRÓ comment: “We proudly unveil a second track, ‘Hin Forboðna Alsæla.’ This one is about the experience of getting addicted to ecstatic pleasures that are all-consuming, yet noxious, and the struggle to be released from their grip.”

Pre-order HELFRÓ‘s self-titled full-length HERE.


The cover artwork was created by View from the Coffin and can be viewed below, together with the tracklist.
1. Afeitrun (05:40)
2. Ávöxtur af rotnu tré    (04:19)
3. Eldhjarta (03:53)
4. Þrátt fyrir brennandi vilja (04:17)
5. Þegn hinna stundlegu harma (03:49)
6. Hin forboðna alsæla (04:28)
7. Katrín (05:20)
8. Musteri agans (04:50)
Total: 0:36:36

Slithering in the cauldron that is the Icelandic black metal scene, HELFRÓ emerges with fury and competence rarely seen.

Written by Ragnar and arranged by Símon, a debut album has been recorded with unforgiving precision and profound musicianship. It is meant to channel the hopeless and empty feelings that have been concentrated from the frozen wastelands from which the band emerges.

Shrilling guitarwork and unforgiving blast beats weave together a soundscape that rarely leaves room for thought. It is an aural attack, seducing the listener to the barren and desolate black sands where the realization of futility and loneliness sets in heavier than anywhere else.

The band members, veterans in extreme music, have created this project as an audio representation of the endless arctic darkness, and with pride present the self titled first offering: „Helfró“.

Genre: Black metal

Ragnar S: Composition, drums, vocals.
Símon Þ: Arrangements, guitars, bass, vocals. 

Recording line-up:
Ragnar S: Drums, Vocals
Simon Þ: Guitars, Bass, Vocals
Gísli S: Clean Vocals

Recording studio: Studio EmissaryProducer / sound engineer: Stephen Lockhart / Simon Þ.

Mixing studio and engineer: Stephen Lockhart

Mastering studio and engineer: Stephen Lockhart

Pre-orders: https://redirect.season-of-mist.com/helfro-helfro 

For more on HELFRÓ, visit the band’s official FACEBOOKBANDCAMP, and INSTAGRAM.