DESPISED ICON: Discuss The Artwork For Purgatory!

In less than a month, Canadian deathcore pioneers DESPISED ICON will release their upcoming full length album, PURGATORY, on November 15th via Nuclear Blast.

Today, Alex discusses the process of choosing the artist to create the album artwork. Watch as he details working with Eliran Kantor to produce a piece that echoed the themes and concepts of PURGATORY, here:

PURGATORY was produced by Yannick St-AmandEric Jarrin and Alex Erian. The music was recorded by DESPISED ICON‘s former guitar player, now current front of house engineer Yannick St-Amand while the vocals were recorded by close friend Antoine Lussier of ION DISSONANCE. Mixing and mastering were completed by CRYPTOPSY‘s very own Christian Donaldson at The Grid in Montreal.

Without a doubt their most dynamic venture to date, DESPISED ICON have a fresh and energy filled arrangement just waiting to see the light of day in the form of PURGATORY. For many years, they have laid the foundation of Deathcore and spearheaded different sounds and movements within the genre.

Watch the music video for the second single “Snake In The Grass” which was produced by Jessy Fuchsof Les Films 37 Superkicks, here:

PURGATORY will be available in the following formats:

  • CD Jewel
  • Vinyl
    • Grey W/ Black Splatter Vinyl

Pre-order PURGATORY in the format of your choice here:

PURGATORY track list:
1.    Dernier Souffle
2.    Purgatory
3.    Light Speed
4.    Slow Burning
5.    Snake In The Grass
6.    Vies D’Anges
7.    Moving On
8.    Unbreakable
9.    Apex Predator
10.    Legacy
11.    Dead Weight

Alex Erian | Vocals
Steve Marois | Vocals
Eric Jarrin | Guitar
Ben Landreville | Guitar
Sébastien Piché| Bass
Alex “Grind” Pelletier | Drums

WATCH: Alex Discusses The Frst Single, “PURGATORY”

WATCH: Alex Discusses The Writing Process For PURGATORY

WATCH: Alex Discusses Recording Process
WATCH: Alex Discuss The Artwork
Pre-order your copy of PURGATORY here: