Ambient Duo SILENT SKIES (with EVERGREY’s Tom S. Englund and pianist Vikram Shankar) Announces Luminescent Label Debut, Nectar, out February 4, 2022

Pre-Order Starts NOW!
Watch the Official Video for First Single “Taper” HERE!
The cinematic ambient project of EVERGREY’s Tom S. Englund and pianist Vikram Shankar mesmerizes with Nectar
Swedish-American ambient duo SILENT SKIES drifts off into Scandinavian melancholy and cinematic soundscapes with the release of their luminescent label debut, Nectar, out February 4, 2022 via Napalm Records. In 2017, the paths of the Swedish progressive band EVERGREY’s vocalist Tom S. Englund and multi-instrumentalist Vikram Shankar crossed fatefully. Both artists set themselves free from limitations to captivate their listener with a soulful ten-track offering, produced by Englund and Shankar themselves and mixed/mastered by Jacob Hansen at Hansen Studios.
Infinite, heartfelt Nectar enchants with sounds like pure poetry lifting off the page and wrapping around its listener with a gentle glow as it combines the reminiscence of the likes of producers and composers such as Olafur Arnalds, Nils Frahm and Ludovico Einaudi, and bands ranging from Sigur Rós to Anathema. The balance between haunting instrumentals and vocal intensity that complement each other in perfect harmony walks a delicate line where listeners are treated to the best of both worlds.
With the release of their first single, “Taper”, SILENT SKIES present an intense composition that blends a unique, charismatic voice and strong melodic sensibility into a profound musical soundscape resembling film music, alongside a captivating music video. “Taper” evokes both a tender embrace and isolation, with the duo’s intertwined melodies standing strong against the setting sun of a human’s broken heart.
SILENT SKIES on “Taper”:
“Come take a step into the universe of Nectar with ‘Taper’ – a universal statement on the journey of the human experience through time. This is one of our favorites on the album, so allow yourself to get lost in our world as you have a first taste of Nectar.
Watch the new music video for “Taper” HERE:
With Gothenburg’s EVERGREY known as one of the most prolific bands in progressive metal, Englund is by far no stranger to the scene. After partnering with North Carolina, USA-based piano player Vikram Shankar – who had already worked with greats like Anneke van Giersbergen – this fateful encounter, now known as SILENT SKIES, set its first milestone with the release of their spine-tingling debut Satellites back in 2020. Two years later, this fruitful collaboration returns with Nectar, marking the sequel of something that’s far more than just a side project of Englund’s. Rather, it’s the brainchild of two highly talented individual artists with deep knowledge and many years of experience, whose creativity and spirit culminates in an exceptional form of musical expression. Shankar’s sensitive yet intense piano tunes merge with the poignant vocal interpretation of Tom S. Englund to take the listener on a touching, melancholic ride that wanders through the darkest facets of life, while always leaving a spark of hope to hold on to. This otherworldly sonic collaboration is graced by the outstanding contributions of Leprous’ cello player Raphael Weinroth-Browne, who appears on nearly every track of the album to spice up the stirring sound even more.
SILENT SKIES’ sophomore full-length sets off with the soulful, ethereal “Fallen From Heart”, immediately creating a tapestry of sound to get lost in. Tracks like delicate “Taper” and shimmering “Neverending” are dominated by the yearning vocals of Englund, but never fail to give Shankar’s instrumental virtuosity the well-deserved space to shine bright like the first sunray welcoming the day. Beautifully honest “Let It Hurt” addicts with its remarkable chorus hitting on point, blending cinematic strings and piano with hooky modern vocals. Darker realms lure with heart-breaking “Leaving”, combining gloomy ambient and infectious pop influences, and dramatically accented, heart-beating “Cold”, with its lingering electronic elements that build a tangible, gripping maelstrom of emotions. Instrumental title track “Nectar” closes this new chapter of SILENT SKIES but leaves its audience with a long-lasting impact and the key to a door that’s worth entering over and over again.
SILENT SKIES on the new album:
“We are tremendously proud to announce our second record, Nectar, will be released on February 4th, 2022. Nectar represents an expansion and an elevation of all things that make us who we are; simultaneously grander and more intimate, more futuristic yet more organic and thoughtful. This record represents who we are, and it means so much to both of us, that we cannot wait for you to experience it.”
Get your copy of Nectar NOW!
Nectar tracklist:
1. Fallen From Heart
2. Taper
3. Neverending
4. Let It Hurt
5. The One
6. Leaving
7. Cold
8. Better Days
9. Closer
10. Nectar
Nectar will be available in the following formats:
– 6p Digisleeve
– 2LP Gatefold BLACK
– Digital Album
[2LP Gatefold BLACK]
Tom S. Englund
Vikram Shankar