THIRTY NIGHTS OF VIOLENCE: Premieres New Ep  You’ll See Me Up There Ahead of Release


Photo Credit: Joey Wasileski
“It’s bludgeoning and in-your-face with a few tech-y parts here and a few melodic parts there, and it does a ton of justice to the band’s influences without sounding like revivalism.” – BrooklynVegan

“Splices together elements of chaotic hardcore, shreddy metalcore and atmospheric metal into an emotive and innovative collage of heavy sounds readymade to rule the mosh pit.” – Revolver Magazine

“While the band’s sound is fiercely aggressive, full of razor-edged riffs and bloody-knuckled breakdowns, it’s their moments of hanging guitars and twisted emotionality that make them especially interesting.” – Kerrang!

“The 6-track offering is replete with their signature savagery, and is a thrilling and dynamic beast.” – No Echo

“Their riffs will transport you to a wonderfully heavy place.” – Alternative Press

“The group includes caustic chaos and directly punching heaviness in their sound, which feels held together by the raw energy that’s at the core of the music.” – Captured Howls

The promising Nashville metal group, Thirty Nights of Violence, has premiered their sophomore release, You’ll See Me Up There, in full today ahead of its official release on June 26th via Unbeaten Records. Across the six tracks, the band displays razor-sharp riffs and explosive drumming that shift between ethereal bridges and scathing passages of controlled chaos. Debuting on BrooklynVeganYou’ll See Me Up There follows the band’s 2018 debut with maturity and expert execution, resulting in a diverse yet focused sound that proves any hype around Thirty Nights of Violence is entirely warranted. Physical copies of You’ll See Me Up There are available here and it’s available to stream in full today on Bandcamp.
Album Artwork by Alex Miracle
Since breaking ground in late 2018 with their debut EP To Die In Your Portrait, Thirty Nights of Violence have found themselves at the forefront of a thriving Nashville metal scene. The young quintet has concocted a volatile blend of frenzied metal with hardcore roots that is equal parts viciousness and precision. 

In June of 2020, the band will partner once again with Unbeaten Records for their highly-anticipated sophomore EP, You’ll See Me Up There. For this release, Thirty Nights of Violence recorded with Tate Mercer of Schematic Studios in Nashville to lean even further into finding the balance between their most chaotic and melodic tendencies. The creative chemistry between members – Zach Wilbourn (vocals), Ethan Young (drums/vocals), Jake Chestnut (bass/vocals), James Chatham (guitar), and Kelly Cook (guitar/vocals) – is apparent on the meticulous arrangements and greater intention behind each element of the EP’s six tracks. 

Thematically, You’ll See Me Up There serves as a way for the band to process internal and external pain. It addresses directly the way perspective can shift when an individual survives a period of suffering. The EP’s title is a reflection of that increased level of understanding that develops in hard times. With four members sharing vocal duties, the creative diversity found throughout the EP matches the wide array of topics that are explored on it; such as drug abuse (“In Vein”), their own sexual identity (“Shattered Glass”), anxiety, and the stages of the grieving process. Sonically, You’ll See Me Up There is driven by the hard-as-nails riffing of Chestnut, Chatham, and Cook, and held in orbit by the masterful drumming of Young. 

Thirty Nights of Violence take influence from seminal acts such as the Deftones, Converge, Botch, and Poison the Well, particularly in the way they expertly integrate melody and metallic dissonance in a fashion that never allows for a wasted moment, rather than through overt likeness. While Thirty Nights of Violence may be relatively new, You’ll See Me Up There is sure to solidify their reputation as one of the most promising young bands currently emerging in the world of underground metal.

1. Lost In Your Light
2. In Vein
3. You’ll See Me Up There
4. Salt
5. Shattered Glass
 6. Marbled Regression

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.