Perturbator Slates May 28 Release Date for Eagerly-awaited Album, Lustful Sacraments 

Lustful Sacraments album cover; artwork by Mathias Leonard




… French dark-futuristic act Perturbator… [mixes] metal’s energy and lack of self-consciousness with the blazing synths of ​’80s gore flicks and video games.” – Kerrang

“…it’s dark and creepy and overwhelming…” – Decibel


March 4, 2021, PARIS – Perturbator, aka James Kent, returns with his highly-anticipated new full-length album, Lustful Sacraments (Blood Music) on May 28.

A preview of the nine-song collection arrives via Revolver, who premiered a video for “Death of the Soul” ( this morning. Kent said of the song: “The track takes inspiration from old school EBM a la DAF or Front 242, Valnoir (Metastazis) has managed to perfectly pair visuals that reflect the nihilistic tone of it.”

Lustful Sacraments, which was written, performed, produced and mixed by Kent, represents his most mature work to date, merging the dark synthesized tones that brought Perturbator to worldwide prominence with classic post-punk, goth, and heavy techno rhythms. The album deftly weaves Perturbator’s cinematic textures with thundering drums, subtle electronic melodies and in-your-face guitar hooks.

“It’s an album about bad habits, dissatisfaction and addiction,” adds Kent of the album that serves as a follow-up to 2016’s The Uncanny Valley. “An overall look at how we, as a species, lean towards self-destruction.”

Album pre-orders, which include both a gatefold 2LP and a 2LP picture disc as well as a cassette, CD and digital release, are available now (physical:; digital pre-save/”Death of the Soul” stream:


Lustful Sacraments album cover; artwork by Mathias Leonard


Lustful Sacraments track list:

  1. Reaching Xanadu
  2. Lustful Sacraments
  3. Excess
  4. Secret Devotion (ft. True Body)
  5. Death of the Soul
  6. The Other Place
  7. Dethroned Under a Funeral Haze
  8. Messalina, Messalina
  9. God Says (ft. Hangman’s Chair)

Photo credit: David Fitt


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.