GRIDFAILURE Featuring MAC GOLLEHON: Presents Dismemberment Cabaret Collaboration “Roaming Blackouts” Visualizer


See GRIDFAILURE featuring MAC GOLLEHON’s “Roaming Blackouts” HERE.
Nefarious Industries presents Dismemberment Cabaret, a cinematic collaborative album between New York harsh/experimental soloist GRIDFAILURE and world-renowned and multi-platinum New York City-based trumpet player MAC GOLLEHON. Confirmed for release in May, the cover art, track listing, preorders, and a visualizer video for the advance single “Roaming Blackouts” have been issued.
Prohibition-era speakeasy and The Great Gatsby vibes merge with gritty horror/slasher and detective films of the 1970s/80s on Dismemberment Cabaret. The uneasy combination is projected with unhinged savagery, unpredictable volatility, and confused tension, matrixed through confrontational foundations in tension, paranoia, and dementia, via broken loops, interrupted transmissions, and denied cries for help.
Dismemberment Cabaret sees GRIDFAILURE creator David Brenner weaving a harsh environment of cinematic horror fueled by post-industrial beats and nontraditional percussive elements, bass, guitars, analog synth, keyboards, violin, xylophone, and much more all doused with layers of field recordings and brutalizing vocal torment. MAC GOLLEHON’s explosive brass and wind contributions slash through the carnage with intensity on all ten songs of the dense album, displaying an array of styles from an even wider spectrum of eras and genres through a surge of trumpet, trombone, cornet, didgeridoo, and more.
While some of GOLLEHON’s elements were randomly recorded at prior sessions with the two artists, Dismemberment Cabaret was wholly created while in self-quarantine throughout 2020. Brenner orchestrated, recorded, and mixed the album at The Compound in Rockland County, with the bulk of GOLLEHON’s material self-recorded in the stairwell of his building in Staten Island. The album was mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter Mastering (Kool Keith, Lost Dog Street Band, Thetan), and completed with cover art, photo manipulation, and videos created by Brenner.
See a dizzying visualizer video for Dismemberment Cabaret’s first single, “Roaming Blackouts,” and more now at the album’s landing page RIGHT HERE.
Nefarious Industries will release GRIDFAILURE featuring MAC GOLLEHON’s Dismemberment Cabaret on limited cassette and digital service providers on May 21st. Find preorders including merch options and more HERE.
Watch for official videos for Dismemberment Cabaret and more to see release over the weeks ahead, and live collaborations with GRIDFAILURE and MAC GOLLEHON to transpire post-plague.
Dismemberment Cabaret Track Listing:
1. Evisceration Guest List
2. Transient Fault
3. Crime Scene Designers
4. A Diet Of Maggots
5. Roaming Blackouts
6. Fracture Mechanics
7. Gusher
8. El Temblor
9. Pieces
10. Harakiri Afterparty
Following the release of Dismemberment Cabaret, Nefarious Industries will release the new LP from MAC GOLLEHON & THE HISPANIC MECHANICS later this year. GOLLEHON is also featured on the third GRIDFAILURE collaboration with Megalophobe which will also see release later this year.
World-renowned NYC trumpet assassin MAC GOLLEHON has toured and recorded with an endless roster of rock, pop, and jazz artists since the 1970s, appearing on over two-hundred gold and platinum albums from the likes of David Bowie, Duran Duran, Onyx, Madonna, Blondie, Billy Ocean, Hall & Oates, Chaka Khan, Buddy Rich, Al Jarreau, Sheena Easton, Nile Rodgers, Patrick Adams, Mick Jagger, Grace Jones, Hector Lavoe, and hundreds of others. Anybody who has heard Billy Ocean’s “Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car,” Blondie’s The Hunter LP, or Onyx’s Slam album has shared a life experience with GOLLEHON’s prominent contributions playing. Besides holding down such an incredible roster of session work, GOLLEHON has released eight solo albums since the late 1990s. In recent years, his primary outlet has been with his ever-morphing MAC GOLLEHON & THE HISPANIC MECHANICS, in addition to contributing other to experimental collaborations and performances.
The ominous vision of creator David Brenner, GRIDFAILURE delivers a cinematic, tension/paranoia-driven form of harsh experimentation fusing dark ambient and harsh sub-hardcore mutations with endless other genres including jazz, world music, folk, electronic, and beyond. Since its 2016 inception the outfit has amassed a mammoth catalog of audiovisual dread through more than two dozen releases, dozens of videos, and more, including splits with Chrome Waves, Feel Happiness, and Never Presence Forever, collaborative albums with Megalophobe, Christian Molenaar, Walking Bombs, a plethora of self-released albums, and more. Sometimes operating fully solo and sometimes with a cast of collaborators – both on record and on stage live across the Northeast – the outfit has continued to double its output each year.
Review copies of Dismemberment Cabaret will be issued in the coming days. For all press inquiries worldwide contact
GRIDFAILURE featuring MAC GOLLEHON "Roaming Blackouts" (visualizer)